Tricount and texture sizes for some middle sized props

Started by
7 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years ago

I've started making some props for a chemistry lab recently, but I found out it would be smart to ask some questions here before proceeding since I'm a beginner so I don't have to redo too much. Any help I can get would be really appreciated. I've tried looking for triangle count and texture sizes for various props in current gen games, but find it hard to find specs other than for characters. I'm not making these for use in games myself, but as I get better I would be interested to start sell on markets like Unreal and Unity so I have to make sure the props fits the general performance requirements.

Magnetic stirrer:

Given the information given below, do you think the triangle count and texture size is acceptable

Size: 15x25x12 cm

1024x1024 texture size. Should I add similar/mirrored UV's that can't be seen simultaneously on top of each other to preserve UV space? Do I need extra UV maps for light map generation if I do that?

LOD0 = 2600 tris
LOD1 = 1400 tris
LOD2 =   700 tris
LOD3 =   300 tris
Approximate tris counts!

magnetic_stirrer.PNG.46a147340d0125de5a596f44f89b499b.PNG

In the picture below of the LOD3 mesh I have a little problem. To get nice normal bakes I had to add UV seams add every sharp edge. When I then start to remove geometry to make lower LODs it sometimes happens that some of the mesh is removed from the UV map. As you can see here this leads to no white border around the orange color for this mesh. Any nice tricks here, or is this acceptable considering the distance will be pretty large?

magnetic_stirrer_1.thumb.PNG.92516c35c0aa84826e1e33ba1244e7de.PNG

Analytical balance:

Triangle count of LOD0 (wireframe) = 2000