How much does 3d art cost?

Started by
10 comments, last by Tom Sloper 5 years, 10 months ago

Hello, I am a programmer. I have always toyed with the idea of paying an artist to do create some "set pieces" for one of my hobby games. I always ignore the thought because I have a feeling that it would be tremendously expensive. But I just realised I am not an artist, I don't encounter artists in my day job, and so, maybe I am completely wrong.

I recently played a VR game which had a very nice set piece. So I thought to use it as a case study.

To be clear, this isn't a classified ad. I am not proposing to pay anyone to build this.

I just consider this to be a very nice example with moderate fidelity (not highly detailed, but still detailed enough). So I was wondering what a professional contractor would charge me for this sort of work (and how long would it take?). [no rigging/animations. Just modeling,texturing,and lighting ]

No need to be precise I'm just looking for ballpark figures: (1 week/1 month/ 3 months, etc...) and: ($1000 / $10000 / $100000). I just want to gain an understanding.

My Oculus Rift Game: RaiderV

My Android VR games: Time-Rider& Dozer Driver

My browser game: Vitrage - A game of stained glass

My android games : Enemies of the Crown & Killer Bees

Advertisement
1 hour ago, SillyCow said:

I was wondering what a professional contractor would charge me

Hiring a professional 3D artist will depend on what you're expecting.

To get someone to model everything in that video you could be looking at a very hefty price depending on location. One company I've worked with locally does scenes like this (very high quality though) at a minimum of $15,000.00 (using drones as well). Everything is created from scratch.