Best ways to manage/unite a team working disparately

Started by
10 comments, last by OptimusCrime 4 years ago

Hey there. I'm on a largish scrum team of talented developers who all work on varied topics across the game. This tends to grow our story count and makes sprints a real challenge to track. These difficulties are compounded by the fact we are working remotely and rely more on tools that would assist our work. Though the remote work is a totally separate topic I'll likely post about…

Does anyone have experience working with a team where each person touches disparate topics in a game and your strategies in managing them? Any resources you would recommend like postmortems, retrospectives or talks from teams working in an agile environment on a GaaS?

Advertisement

Hi, I'm a project manager, but have not worked on games yet. Keen to know if you are already using some tools/methods for task management, and I have a few queries about how your team is already trying to manage task control aspects:

• How are tasks allocated ?
  • How is progress tracked/reported ?
  • Can everyone in the team see the allocation and progress ?
  • Are interdependencies between tasks flagged (so person B can see that they are working on tasks that affect person K, etc) ?
  • Is something being used to provide an overall view (eg, a gantt) ?
  • Are milestones being used to drive progress or is it just by sprint ?
  • Are all tasks spec'd out in advance via some kind of project specification that everyone can see and is signed onto ?
  • Is coms good across the team outside of scums ?

These are the types of things I'd begin to question and then try to solve. Also really interested to hear what anyone else has to say, as I'm keen to learn about game project management.

Thanks John

None

Hoosie said: