Writing Story for Games

Started by
6 comments, last by Vanplank 3 years, 11 months ago

I am lookiing to try and find my way into the gaming industry, and as a writer, my passion lies in the game story creation, rather than the actual programming.

A while ago, on a whim, I started working on a game design document, which I know is not the normal process for game development, but now I'm wondering. Is it possible to shop it around studios or would I be wasting my time?

If so, does anybody have any times on how to get involved with story writing for games?

Thansk for your time.

Advertisement

Vanplank said:
I started working on a game design document, which I know is not the normal process for game development, but now I'm wondering. Is it possible to shop it around studios or would I be wasting my time?

It is not abnormal to write a game design document.

Anything is possible, so of course you can shop it around. It wouldn't be a waste of time (you will learn from the experience) but nobody will buy your idea. Read https://sloperama.com/advice/lesson11.html

Vanplank said:
how to get involved with story writing for games?

I assume you mean professionally. First, a writing degree. Then, a portfolio of work (TV shows, comic books, graphic novels, novels). Then, be in the right place at the right time. https://sloperama.com/advice/lesson32.html

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@Tom Sloper Thanks for the response. I don't have a writing degree, but I do have 22 published novels to my name and a number of anthology and short story compilations out there.

While considering how many existing books that games can be based on with an existing fanbase and how few authors that can get their book published as it is, you would certainly be wasting your time. Writing story for games has to be a part of the whole design process. For each game, there are many developers who learned game programming because they wanted to tell their story.