Gameplay first vs. Visuals first

Started by
8 comments, last by 1024 3 years, 8 months ago

I'm a programmer, not an artist, and I've always followed the advice of using crappy programmer art to get the game functional and playable before looking to find artists to make it look appealing.

However, lately I'm seeing more and more people doing the opposite, people who are artists first or know someone, and they get the look of the game settled before making the game playable. And I can see why: they immediately have something to post and show people, starting the marketing machine early.

Have the times changed? Do we need to be locking down the visuals earlier to generate a following while the gameplay gets worked out? Or does the old advice of getting the game fun and playable first still hold? Does that delay marketing and generating interest too late in the development process now?

Advertisement

I may be biased as I'm a sound person, but I'm personally a fan of getting the game looking nice as soon as possible, especially when it comes to a game that's story-driven. Like you mentioned, it helps with marketing really early in, but I also think it helps keep people motivated as it feels like they're working on a more polished project relatively early in.

I think of course, it can depend on the game as well and what it's priorities are for the player.

Why would anyone want one of them before the other? I want them both at the same time. It's a race between the programmers and the artists. Who can produce faster?

No, seriously. The thing that takes the most time is the programming. The engineering team needs to work hand-in-hand with design and get the gameplay working first and foremost. If the artists can deliver at the same time, or before, that's great. But having gorgeous animations does not guarantee a good game. Good game mechanic doesn't either, but if you arrive at both at the same time, that ain't bad.