Setting up buttons with enums and classes

Started by
1 comment, last by Alberth 2 years, 10 months ago

I'm trying to set up everything I need to render all my buttons using enums and a button class in SDL2/C++ so that the class variables adapt depending on the enum element changes. Each button shape is a different size, individual button presence and position changes depending on game state, and all the image files have a "Button::name_Button::ButtonState" naming convention.

I'm new to C++, so having trouble translating this idea into working code. Does anyone have any ideas on how to make this more elegant?

class Game
    {
    public:

enum class GameState
        {
            PLAY, MENU, SETTINGS, EXIT
        };

enum class ButtonShape
        {
           LONG, SHORT, ROUND
        };

enum class ButtonState
        {
            DEFAULT, HOVER, INACTIVE, PRESSED
        };

int ButtonShape::LONG::H = 128;
        int ButtonShape::LONG::W = 256;
        int ButtonShape::SHORT::H = 64;
        int ButtonShape::SHORT::W = 64;
        int ButtonShape::ROUND::H = 256;
        int ButtonShape::ROUND::W = 256;

class Button
        {
        public:
            char name;
            ButtonShape _buttonShape;
            ButtonState _buttonState;
            GameState _gameState;
            int x = _gameState x;
            int x = _gameState y;
            int h = _buttonShape::H;
            int w = _buttonShape::W;
            string imagefile = "%c_%s.png" name, _buttonState;
        };

private:
        ButtonState _buttonState;
        ButtonShape _buttonShape;
        GameState _gameState;
};
Advertisement

jhbardwell said:
I'm new to C++, so having trouble translating this idea into working code.