Jerky Sprite responce to keyboard input - SDL2 within C++

Started by
6 comments, last by Nick72c 2 years, 2 months ago

This is my first attempt to use SDL2 within C++ (I'm new to both).

Why is my main sprite so slow and glitchy when moved with user keyboard input (pollEvents SDLK), but smooth and lightening fast with user mouse input (poolEvents SDL_MOUSEMOTION) ?

Is there a better way to take the keyboard input?

Advertisement

Looks like your framerate is low or unsteady.
Ideally you want your rate of update a constant and high number, and you could log / display timings to check this.

@JoeJ

JoeJ said:

Looks like your framerate is low or unsteady.
Ideally you want your rate of update a constant and high number, and you could log / display timings to check this.

Thanks for the feedback.

I've tried creating the renderer both with the faster ‘accelerated’ and the monitor synced ‘presentvsync’, but still get the same effect.

renderer = SDL_CreateRenderer(_window, -1, SDL_RENDERER_ACCELERATED); /*SDL_RENDERER_PRESENTVSYNC*/

I've also got my main game loop on a 60fps delay:

int main(int argc, char** argv)

{

Window window("Nick's SDL2 Window", 1800, 1000); // create object window & Initialise Window & SDL Image

Asset hero(50, 50, "res/cherry.png");

Asset sky(50, 50, "res/sky.png");

Asset grass(50, 50, "res/grass.png");

Asset earth(50, 50, "res/earth.png");

while (!window.isClosed())

{

const Uint64 timeout = SDL_GetTicks64() + 1000 / 60; // timout = now (total number of clicks since SDL initialisatom) + 1/60th of a second

pollObjects(window, hero); // check for user input and update main charccter position

buildmap(sky, grass, earth); // load and draw background

hero.draw(); // draw main character in new position

std::cout << "tick" << std::endl; // check ratio of delay loops (tocks) to main loops (ticks)

while (SDL_GetTicks64() < timeout) // add delay so that full loop + delay >= 1/60th second (frame rate 60fps)

{

SDL_Delay(1);