🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to handle/design RPG event ???

Started by
19 comments, last by Veron2 24 years, 1 month ago
Hello Everyone I''m newbie here, and I have a problem about event in RPG (i.e. when man talk to man2 and there is something happen, or when man walk to some position there is something happen but once ,or after fighting there is something happen , and all event happen once) if I desing it to state machine I will have a huge thousand states I try to search previos topic here but not found. Please advice me how to design event in RPG ..... how to keep all information about event ?? (words of people,item in ..., ...) Thank you very much .. Veron 2 Veron@rome.com
Advertisement
I don''t know in what stage of the project you are, but I''m guessing design stage...

Maybe it''s a good idea to sum all things up you want to use.
In one of my previous games I implemented doors, enemies, objects(equipment) and other events with the folowing structure:

typedef enum
{
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_LEFT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_TOP,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_RIGHT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_BOTTOM,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_ENEMY,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_EQUIPMENT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_EVENT,
...etc...
}
ELEMENT_TYPE;

typedef struct
{
int iRoom;
int iCondition;
ELEMENT_TYPE eType;
int iX;
int iY;
...etc...
}
ELEMENT;

The condition is used if element is valid. For example:
- the player must have a key to open door.
- the player with a level below 10 gets enemy A.
- the player with a level above 10 gets enemy B.

Then I made a large list of "events".
When the player moved, I checked it''s position with those in the list.

Hope this is what you meant,
Bas.