🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Musician looking for experience in the gaming industry

Started by
7 comments, last by idioteque 23 years, 3 months ago
Hi! I''m a musician who wants to start doing game music. I''ve worked on a couple projects before but they never really went anywhere. I really want to do some work and get some real games and experience under my belt. You can check out some samples of my work here: http://www.geocities.com/geoffmillermusic/index.htm If you''re interested in using my work please e-mail me at thewired@hotmail.com. Comments are also welcome. :-) Geoff
Advertisement
I am by no means a professional game developer, but there are serveral things that I''d look for in a musician. (I am that musician/programmer type.)

A top priority (aside from actually being able to compose) is a knowledge of the medium; not music in particular, but music from a computer''s point-of-view. This includes the many file formats (mods, mp3s, midis) and being able compose well with all of them. Many consoles tend to lead toward more of a mod approach, because they are flexible in dynamically mixing many tracks in realtime. For example, in Banjo Kazooie for the N64, it keeps a constant song throughout a level, yet is modified (via instrument volumes increasing/decreasing) in different areas that you enter into. While each area consists of the same song yet multiple instruments, the song is balanced, in terms of mixing and placement of instruments among the frequency ranges.

[Although mp3s are amazing in respect to the technology behind them, I have to disagree with their usage in video games. Simply, they are huge (compared to mods) and require quite more processing; needless to say they are quite static in terms of mixing; very boring in video games indeed!]