🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to become a (worthwhile) Narrative Designer?

Started by
5 comments, last by sunandshadow 14 years, 10 months ago
This is a selfish post, asking for advice, just so that we are honest here. I work as a game-designer for a small AAA-quality UK studio. As a result of a few side-projects at work, my writing talents have come to the attention of the management and I have been given certain opportunities for self-improvement. They want me to go from being a designer with writing experience to an expert in my field, so they are willing to pay for my training. Only... I need to work out what training I need. I spent years in theatre as an actor, a director and a playwright. I was even published (back in the nineties by a small publisher) as a novelist. I have studied creative writing, English Lit, took a degree in Entertainment Systems (Media Studies but with a focus on games) and never stopped writing. So what do you think could make me a better writer / narrative-designer?
Advertisement
Hi Cat, you wrote:

>This is a selfish post, asking for advice, just so that we are honest here.

I don't understand why you think it's necessary to apologize. This is the perfect and expected reason for posting. And you've perfectly expressed your question, too. I'm insulted that you thought you needed to apologize!!

> a small AAA-quality UK studio... want me to go from being a designer with writing experience to an expert in my field, so they are willing to pay for my training.

Awesome!

>Only... I need to work out what training I need.

Even better.