🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for some guidance...

Started by
2 comments, last by SpreeTree 14 years, 6 months ago
Hey guys, Long story short, I am a senior chemical engineering student at the university of houston, who has recently decided that game design and development has, and always will be my passion. Even though I will finish my current degree, I recently decided (after working at an engineering internship for almost a year now) that this is not what i want to do the rest of my life. I come to you guys with a hope that i can get some help and direction as to what to do to achieve my goals. I have some limited programming experience (matlab, probably something you have never heard of lol) and understand the basic concepts of programming and logic, but dont know anything about coding or games development as far as what programs to use, etc. Ultimately, I am willing to spend the next 3-4 years working on the side to increase my value as a potential employee in a game development company, enough so that i would be considered as a game designer. My question to you guys is, what should i do in order to accomplish this goal? I know it may be difficult, but i believe that i am motivated to learn and do whatever i have to do to get such a position. thanks in advance for any advice or info on books, programs, or the game design business etc, and im glad to be a part of the forums :)
Advertisement
I'm not in the games industry, but I can tell you that there aren't many open positions for game designers of high profile titles.
To become one, you'll need to prove that you can design good games.