🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Switching Careers

Started by
2 comments, last by feluu25 13 years, 4 months ago
Hello everyone,

I have decided to switch career-paths and become a game designer. My background is in music; I currently hold a Bachelor's degree in Music Composition (writing music) and a Master's degree in Music Theory (the math of music). This decision was a long time coming. I remember playing Duck Hunt and The Oregon Trail as a kid and have been in love with games ever since.

The reason I went so far with my music is partly due to my parents' encouragement and also due my natural musical talents. Music came easily to me, so it was just 'easy' to continue down that road. But I've come to realization that, while being a musician or music teacher would be gratifying, making games would bring me infinitely more joy in life. I've been hired on multiple occasions to tour Europe with a symphony orchestra as a principal/section leader performing amazing works. I know what music can offer me, and yet I still want to sit at a computer and make games instead.

I do realize there is a huge difference between playing games and making them. After some serious consideration about keeping gaming as merely 'a favorite hobby', I've come to the conclusion that it is not enough. I actually feel that creating a fun game, constantly tweaking its mechanics, coming up with new storyline, characters, skills, and levels, and updating it to be better and better over time, would be more enjoyable than playing the game itself!