🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Need help and advice

Started by
5 comments, last by Avalander 6 years, 1 month ago

Hello gentlemen.

I'm a total noob in game dev community, so don't be harsh. Also I'm russian, english is not my native language.

I currently went deep into my project. For you to have a perspective, it's base-building game set in zombie apocalypse environment. Imagine Rimworld + Dwarf Fortress + Banished + zombie-apocalypse. Kinda like Walking Dead series, but you actually control the survivors and build a base in one place with no wandering around (only for food, drugs, ammunition, etc). So...

I can't deside how many survivors should player have at the beginning of the game? What do you suggest? I'm curious.

Nikita

Advertisement
11 minutes ago, Cryptopatik said:

I can't deside how many survivors should player have at the beginning of the game? What do you suggest? I'm curious.

3. ?

It's hard to suggest something without knowing how the game works, what constraints does the player have, etc. For example:

• can characters die and the game carries on? Or any death result in game over?
  • is there an ending or it's more like The Sims, almost infinite?
  • what is the main goal? Survive X days? Recruit/save 100 people? Build a spaceship? Develop a cure?
  • the plot requires certain characters to survive till the end?
  • are all playable characters equally skilled? Or each one has different stats (stronger, faster, better at building) or classes (medic, soldier, farmer)?

I recomend you build the core aspects of gameplay before deciding this. Then you can playtest with different configurations and see what works best.