🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Concurrent modification of components in ECS

Started by
12 comments, last by ballzak 4 years, 5 months ago

I have little game dev experience but trying to create an ECS based game engine for personal use. Components are stored in, and managed by, separate Systems, as i believe it's good SRP, and the most performant since each System can choose a memory layout optimal for its purpose, e.g. sorted, stored in GPU, etc. The engineering issue i've been struggling with is how to create/update/delete Components in such a design, preferably allowing good parallelization. I've read every article/post i can find, none seem to present a full or convincing solution. Conceivable methods:

1. Direct modification, synchronous message passing

A System just calls the function to directly create/update/delete a Component in another System, or itself. Simple, but would make parallelization nearly pointless since every Component data structure would require locking. No batching, if Components must maintain order, or some other post-processing, sorting after every call is sub-optimal. To avoid locking, Systems could possibly be orchestrated do their processing in an order to not modify each other concurrently, but as the number of Systems increase i fear it would become a maintainable nightmare, also limiting parallelization.

2. Single “global” Event queue, asynchronous message passing