🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

how much creative liberty does a gameplay programmer have?

Started by
3 comments, last by Shaarigan 3 years, 11 months ago

Hi. I'm a student trying to learn about the video game industry. Specifically gameplay programming. I want to know how much of the overall game design is left to the gameplay programmer. Like are they just told by the gameplay designers, these are the features that need to be implemented. Or is there a back and forth between gameplay programmers and gameplay designers?

None

Advertisement

Not working in the industry, but probably the latter.

Designers can come up with nice ideas, but often it needs to be play-tested before you can decide if it is good for the game. If it doesn't, stuff needs to be modified.

Also, I would expect programmers to have little to say about the game design. It's not your job to invent or design a game mechanic, your job is to realize their design in a piece of computer code.

In the latter however, I would expect much more freedom and creativity for programmers. Designers don't understand code, they likely don't care how you code things, just get it working as they want it. Obviously, the latter isn't necessarily easy to achieve with a dumb collection of silicon, some metal, and a few wires, commonly known as “computer”.

patmiller said:
how much of the overall game design is left to the gameplay programmer. Like are they just told by the gameplay designers, these are the features that need to be implemented.