🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Trying to break in

Started by
3 comments, last by bootyfunk 22 years, 3 months ago
Hello all, I am new, sorry for not spending time in the beginner section before coming here, but i have audio specific carrer questions. I am an studio engineer with experience music recording, Radio Production, Sound Design, and sound for Software, but not games. I was wondering how the rest of you broke into doing sound for games, how did you start? Is game testing a good way to get in? I am learning c++, is there any other languages i should learn? How do i gain experience when all the positions want experience? thanks -Ecm
A little songA little danceA Little SetzerDown your pants.-SpaceGhost
Advertisement
What kind of work are you hoping to get into? Sound design, or sound programming?

I''m a software engineer with experience in C/C++ and a strong understanding of hardware. I studied fine arts for four years where I spent a lot of my time doing sound design for film and video.

Now I''m doing sound programming for console games. I work primarily in C++ with some C coding. Most of the time I work with a sound designer who provides the content for our game, and I put it into the game and hook it up. I rarely do much design work now, but I feel that my experience with sound is a huge asset when working with the game.

If you are trying to get into sound design, then I would say a solid audio portfolio showing your sound design skills is a must. Additionally, knowing about the limitations of doing sound design for games is a huge plus. Its not the same as film or video.

Game testing is a way to get the foot in the door at a game company, but I have rarely seen game testers get hired much higher up in a company than just "Manager of the Game Testers".