How do I price the development of the following project

Started by
4 comments, last by Orymus3 3 years, 4 months ago

I'm teaming up with two developers to create a demo for a poker site a friend owns. We want to propose something like Poker Stars VR using their already established user-base. This would be a VR only game.

We'd work on the modeling, programming, maybe even distribution. The plans is to release the game as a PCVR and Quest standalone game.

My question is, how much do you all think I could charge for this kind of job? Or how do I price this? The client is from the US.

Keep in mind, I have no experience releasing a single game yet the owner is a very close friend of mine. My other two developer friends have experience releasing flat reality games for other companies, but have never released their own games.

Thank you very much!

None

Advertisement

CassieNova said:
How do I price the development

We'd work on the modeling, programming, maybe even distribution.

Development could run half a million to ten million, or more.

Self-publishing means you will be paying triple the cost of development before money is rolling in.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@Tom Sloper Omg, had no idea that was the number. Thanks again Tom, you've been very helpful!

None

Agreed. Even a low-quality VR title is a quarter million if you're doing professional work. That's not even covering your self-publishing costs. Normally development is roughly a third of total costs. A decent title is easily seven figures.